North Carolina Maritime History Council
Executive Board 

2021 Executive Board Officers

Chair

Lynn B. Harris                                        
Associate Professor
East Carolina University
Program in Maritime Studies 
www.maritimestudies.ecu.edu
252-328-1967 (office)
harrisly@ecu.edu 

Vice Chair

William Sassorossi  
Maritime Archaeologist, Research Coordinator
Monitor National Marine Sanctuary
 National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
www.monitor.noaa.gov
 757-591-7329 (office)
 william.sassorossi@noaa.gov 

Secretary

Lori Sanderlin
Museum Manager
North Carolina Maritime Museum at Southport
www.ncmaritimemuseumsouthport.com
 910-477-5152
 lori.sanderlin@ncdcr.gov  

Treasurer

Christine Brin      
Associate Curator of Education
North Carolina Maritime Museum in Beaufort
www.ncmaritimemuseumbeaufort.com
252-504-7743
christine.brin@ncdcr.gov

 

Editor

Jeremy Borrelli     
Associate Curator of Education
Maritime Research Associate
M.A., East Carolina University
https://history.ecu.edu/jeremy-borrelli/  
252-328-1965
borrellij16@ecu.edu

 

Student Liaison & Assistant Editor

Jill Schuler     
Graduate Research Assistant
East Carolina University, Maritime Studies
www.maritimestudies.ecu.edu

Student Liaison 

Matthew Pawelski    
Graduate Student
Master's Student, Program in Maritime Studies
East Carolina University
www.maritimestudies.ecu.edu

 

Executive Board Members                                                                     

Danny Bell
President
Triangle Native American Society
trianglenative.org                                                      

David Bennett
Curator of Maritime History
North Carolina Maritime Museum System
www.ncmaritimemuseums.com                                                       
252-504-7756 (office)                                                                           
david.bennett@ncdcr.gov 

Jeremy Borrelli 
Staff Archaeologist
East Carolina University, Program in Maritime Studies
252-328-1965
borrellij16@ecu.edu     

Andrew Duppstadt
Education and Interpretation Supervisor
Historic Weapons Program Coordinator
Division of State Historic Sites and Properties
North Carolina Department of Natural and Cultural Resources252-526-9600 ext 227
andrew.duppstadt@ncdcr.gov

Charles R. Ewen, Ph.D.
Director
Phelps Archaeology Laboratory Liaison
Queen Anne’s Revenge Conservation Laboratory
Professor, Department of Anthropology
www.ecu.edu
252-328-9454
EWENC@ecu.edu

Valerie Ann Johnson, Ph.D.
Dean
School of Arts, Sciences, and Humanities
Shaw University
Co-director, Center for Racial and Social Justice
Professor of Sociology
www.shawu.edu

Leesa Jones
 Executive Director
Washington Waterfront Underground Railroad Museum
https://whda.org/underground-railroad-museum/
609-444-8974

Nathan Richard, Ph.D.
Director & Professor 
Program in Maritime Studies, Department of History
East Carolina University
www.coastalstudiesinstitute.org
252-328-1968
richardsn@ecu.edu

Chris Southerly   

Deputy State Archaeologist - Underwater

Office of  State Archeology

NC Department of Natural and Cultural Resources
910-251-7323

chris.southerly@ncdcr.gov

  

Douglas Stover       

Cultural Resource Management Consultant
Nags Head NC 27959
252-216-9399
dstover58@gmail.com